Saratoga Performing Arts Center Announces Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center’s 2023 Summer Season

 Celebrating the 10th Anniversary of their Partnership 

Arnaud Sussmann,Wu Han, David Finckel Photo byCherylynn Tsushima

SARATOGA SPRINGS – Saratoga Performing Arts Center (SPAC) welcomes the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS) back to the Spa Little Theatre for its summer residency from June 11-August 20, 2023, marking the 10th anniversary of its collaboration with SPAC. The six-concert summer season follows two previously announced performances on March 18 and May 13 by CMS, now a year-round presence in Saratoga Springs.

“Our 2023 season carries a celebratory theme across all of our residencies, but none more so than with the 10th anniversary of our partnership with Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center,” says Elizabeth Sobol, President and CEO of Saratoga Performing Arts Center. “Over the past decade, SPAC and CMS have cultivated a dedicated audience of chamber music devotees in Saratoga Springs and we are excited to the continue the tradition not just every summer, but year-round as well.”

Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center’s summer season opens with “From Classic to Modern,” showcasing works from Brahms and Beethoven to Bloch, Khachaturian and Milhaud (June 11), followed by “Great Quintets” of Mozart, Dohnányi and Dvořák (June 18); “From Vienna to Paris” (July 16); a program from guest artists The Miró String Quartet (July 23); and “Spanish Journey” (August 13). The season closes with “New Classics” (August 20), which includes quintets by Bloch and Suk that CMS has ushered into the standard chamber repertoire.

Anchored by Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center Artistic Directors Wu Han (piano) and David Finckel (cello), this season’s guest artists also include violinists Arnaud Sussmann, Alexander Sitkovetsky, Ani Kavafian, Ida Kavafian, Stella Chen, Danbi Um, Kristin Lee, and Aaron Boyd; violists Paul Neubauer, James Thompson, Molly Carr, and Matthew Lipman; cellist Sihao He, pianists Wu Qian, Juho Pohjonen, Soyeon Kate Lee; clarinetist Ricardo Morales, guitarist Jason Vieaux, soprano Rihab Chaieb, and The Miró Quartet.

“As we browsed through the six programs we have assembled for SPAC this summer, we were frankly astounded at how much more depth and variety is there than we’d even thought! In the hands of twenty-six different performers, the music of nineteen composers from six distinct cultures will take our beloved SPAC listeners on a comprehensive chamber music journey. The diversity of [ensembles]instrumentation echoes these dimensions as well, from piano trios and string quartets to works with voice and guitar. Our residency also combines well-known repertoire by composers like Haydn and Mozart with that of composers making their CMS debuts at SPAC, such as the Swiss-American pioneer Ernest Bloch, with two works including his bracing Piano Quintet, which is quickly becoming a mainstay of the repertoire. And we take special pleasure in visiting SPAC in person on two occasions to perform once again in our favorite venue of the North, the acoustically superb Spa Little Theatre,” says Co-Artistic Directors David Finckel and Wu Han.

The summer season follows two previously announced spring concerts offered by CMS. On March 18, soprano Jessica Rivera joins pianists Michael Stephen Brown and Gilles Vonsattell, cellist Nicholas Canellakis and percussionist Ian David Rosenbaum to present “Voices of the Americas,” a program celebrating the range of ideas, sounds, and cultures that have inspired composers from the Americas in the 20th Century like Copland, Gershwin, Golijov, and Villa-Lobos. On May 13, pianist Wu Han, violinist Arnaud Sussmann, and cellist David Finckel unite to perform works by Beethoven and Dvořák.

All summer 2023 CMS events will take place at the Spa Little Theatre (19 Roosevelt Drive, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866). There is one performance of each program at 3pm. Doors open at 2pm and the house opens at 2:30pm. Visit for more information

To purchase tickets:

Subscriptions to all six summer programs will be available to purchase at beginning on Friday, February 24. Subscription packages will be $258 – $378 depending on seating location. Single performance tickets will be available to purchase beginning on March 2 for members (tiered by level) and March 9 for the general public, and will be $48 – $68 each.

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center residency is presented by Charles Schwab – Maureen Parker.

Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center: June 11-August 20

“From Classic to Modern” Sunday, June 11 at 3 p.m.

Alexander Sitkovetsky, violin

Ricardo Morales, clarinet

Wu Qian, piano

Brahms: Sonata in E-flat major for Clarinet and Piano, Op. 120, No. 2 (1894)

Beethoven: Sonata in C minor for Violin and Piano, Op. 30, No. 2 (1801-02)

Bloch: Exotic Night for Violin and Piano (1924)   

Khachaturian: Trio for Clarinet, Violin, and Piano (1932)

Milhaud: Suite for Violin, Clarinet, and Piano, Op. 157b (1936)

“Great Quintets” Sunday, June 18 at 3 p.m.

Ani Kavafian, violin

Ida Kavafian, violin

Paul Neubauer, viola

James Thompson, viola

David Finckel, cello

Mozart: Quintet in G minor for Two Violins, Two Violas, and Cello, K. 516 (1787)

Dohnányi: Serenade in C major for Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 10 (1902)

Dvořák: Quintet in E-flat major for Two Violins, Two Violas, and Cello, Op. 97, “American” (1893)

“From Vienna to Paris” Sunday, July 16 at 3 p.m.

Juho Pohjonen, piano

Stella Chen, violin

Danbi Um, violin

Molly Carr, viola

Sihao He, cello

Haydn: Trio in E-flat major for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Hob. XV:29 (1797)

Mozart: Concerto No. 12 in A major for Piano and String Quintet, K. 414 (1782)

Fauré:   Quartet No. 1 in C minor for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 15 (1876-79)

“The Miró String Quartet” Sunday, July 23 at 3 p.m.

Daniel Ching, violin

William Fedkenheuer, violin

John Largess, viola

Joshua Gindele, cellist

Haydn: Quartet in B-flat major for Strings, Hob. III:67, Op. 64, No. 3 (1790)

Shaw: Microfictions [Vol. 1] (commissioned by the Miro Quartet)

Dvořák: Quartet in G major for Strings, Op. 106 (1895)

“Spanish Journey” Sunday, August 13 at 3 p.m.

Rihab Chaieb, soprano

Soyeon Kate Lee, piano

Kristin Lee, violin

Clive Greensmith, cello

Jason Vieaux, guitar

Obradors: Canciones Clásicas Españolas for Voice and Guitar (1921)        

Albéniz: Mallorca for Guitar, Op. 202 (1891)       

Arbós: Tres Piezas Originales in Estilo Español for Violin, Cello, and Piano, Op. 1             

Falla: Siete canciones populares españolas for Voice and Piano (1914)

Sarasate: Romanza Andaluza from Spanish Dances for Violin and Piano, Op. 22 (1878)  

Rodrigo: Tres canciones españolas for Voice and Guitar (1951)   

Turina: Trio No. 2 in B minor for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 76 (1933)  

“New Classics” Sunday, August 20 at 3 p.m.

Wu Han, Piano

Aaron Boyd, Violin

Arnaud Sussmann, Violin

Matthew Lipman, Viola

Sihao He, Cello

Haydn: Trio in E major for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Hob. XV:28 (1797)

Bloch:   Quintet No. 1 for Piano, Two Violins, Viola, and Cello (1921-23)

Suk:       Quintet in G minor for Piano, Two Violins, Viola, and Cello, Op. 8

**** PSAs ****

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: